The Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health was formally organized in May, 1984 in Anchorage, Alaska at the time the 6th International Symposium on Circumpolar Health. The Society became a charter member of the International Union for Circumpolar Health in March 1986 in Stockholm, Sweden.

The late Dr. Otto Schaefer was unanimously elected as Honorary President and Honorary Lifetime Member. A fourteen member executive and regional advisory board was elected with representatives from Aboriginal organizations and geographical areas across Canada.

Past Presidents of the Society include:

Photo President Term of Service
Dr. Brian Postl 1984-1990
Jean Goodwill 1990-1993
Dr. Kue Young 1993-1996
Roda Grey 1996-2000
Mabel Horton 2000-2003
Earl Nowgesic 2003-2006
Dr. Pam Orr 2006-2009
Susan Chatwood 2009-2012
Dr. Kami Kandola 2012-2015

ichr.ca wordpress.org green hosting open source