Projects
2008-2009 2009-2010 2010-2011 Multi-Year

View Climate Change and Health Adaptation Funded Communities in a larger map

List of Projects

Community 2008-2009 2009-2010 2010-2011
Old Crow, YTOld Crow, YT Gwich’in Youth and Scientists Climate Change and Health Research Symposium in Northern Yukon: What do our changing homelands mean for our health? Phase 2: Vuntut Gwitchin Climate Change and Health Research in Northern Yukon: What do our Changing Homelands mean for our Health? Knowledge into Action Phase 3: Community Action on Climate Change & Food Security Adaptation in Old Crow
Contact: Jody Butler Walker (jody@butlerwalker.ca), Norma Kassi
Selkirk FN/Pelly Crossing, YTSelkirk FN - Pelly Crossing, YT A Pilot Study on the Health Effects on the Selkirk First Nation due to Climate Change
Contact: Sandy Macintosh (sandy.macintosh@gmail.com), Janie Lee Silas (jlsilas@northwestel.net)
Climate Change and Health – Linking our Past and Future through our Traditions and Culture: An Ethno-Botanical Resource Study to determine the Effects of Climate Change on Traditional Ecosystems
Contact: Sandy Macintosh (sandy.macintosh@gmail.com), Bill Trerice (mintomail@gmail.com)
Clyde River, NUClyde River, NU Life with Ice: A special book project to report Inuit-led research on sea ice, sea ice use, and sea ice change in three Arctic communities
Contact: Shari Gearheard (sharig@qiniq.com)
Arnait Project: A Women’s Retreat on Climate Change and Health
Contact: Jakob Gearheard (coordinator@ilisaqsivik.ca)
Nain, NLNain, NL Establishment of Inuit Community Based Ice Monitoring and Surveillance Programs for Human Safety and Security
Contact: Chris Furgal (chrisfurgal@trentu.ca)
The development of an Inuit focused ecohealth program in Nain, Nunatsiavut: a pilot study for building capacity while adapting for a healthy future
Contact: Tom Sheldon (tom_sheldon@nunatsiavut.com)
Hopedale, NLHopedale, NL Establishment of Inuit Community Based Ice Monitoring and Surveillance Programs for Human Safety and Security
Contact: Chris Furgal (chrisfurgal@trentu.ca)
Aklavik, NTAklavik, NT Climate as a Health Determinant in the Aklavik region of the Northwest Territories
Contact: Denise Kurszewski (dkurszewski@northwestel.net), Velma Illasiak
Aklavik Elder’s Traditional Knowledge, Climate Change and Community Health
Contact: Billy Archie (billy.archie@xplornet.ca), Jerome Gordon, Michelle Gruben (ahtc@airware.ca)
Iqaluit, NUIqaluit, NU Pauktuutit: Inuit Women of Canada
Contact: Susan Scullion (scullion@itk.ca)
Building Local Capacity to Monitor Microbiological Water Quality in the Streams and Rivers of Iqaluit, Nunavut: towards protecting drinking water resources in a changing climate
Contact: Jamal Shirley (jamal.shirley@arcticcollege.ca)
Climate Change and Health Community Photovoice Research Project and Training Workshop
Contact: Gwen Healey (ahrn.nunavut@gmail.com)
Igloolik, NUIgloolik, NU Climate Change and food (in)security among female Inuit: a case study
Contact: James Ford (james.ford@mail.mcgill.ca), Maude Beaumier (maude.beaumier@mail.mcgill.ca)
Inuit Knowledge and Climate Change: Assessing, Mitigating, and Communicating Health Risks
Contact: Zacharias Kunuk (zkunuk@isuma.ca), Ian Mauro (ianmauro@uvic.ca)
Pangnirtung, NUPangnirtung, NU Understanding the impact of climate change on perceptions and practices related to water safety in Pangnirtung
Contact: Audrey Giles (agiles@uottawa.ca)
Fort Good Hope, NTFort Good Hope, NT Our Land, Our Life, Our Future: Community Health, Climate Change & Community Based Adaptation Solutions Toward Wellness
Contact: Erin Freeland Ballantyne (erinfreeland@yahoo.ca)
Tuktoyaktuk, NTTuktoyaktuk, NT Our Land, Our Life, Our Future: Community Health, Climate Change & Community Based Adaptation Solutions Toward Wellness
Contact: Elizabeth Lewis (elewis8062@hotmail.com)
Acho Dene Koe/Ft. Liard, NTAcho Dene Koe - Fort Liard, NT Research of Traditional Medicinal Floral Resources within Acho Dene Koe First Nation’s Traditional Territory And the Impact of Climate Change Research of Traditional Medicinal Floral Resources within Acho Dene Koe First Nation’s Traditional Territory And the Impact of Climate Change, part 2
Contact: Gilbert N. Capot-Blanc (capot0blanc@msn.com)
Rigolet, NLRigolet, NL Changing Climate, Changing Health, Changing Stories: a capacity development approach to community-based participatory health research in Nunatsiavut, Canada Changing Climate, Changing Health, Changing Stories 2: uniting Nunatsiavut Youth and Elders through stories, community-based research, and wisdom
Contact: Sarah Blake (townofrigolet@yahoo.com), Sherilee Harper (harpers@uoguelph.ca), Charlotte Wolfrey (charlotte.wolfrey@nunatsiavut.com), Ashlee Cunsolo Willox (ashlee@uoguelph.ca)
Ross River, YTRoss River, YT Tay River Caribou Herd: Preliminary Investigation
Contact: Brian Ladue (brian.ladue@gmail.com), Norman Sterriah (sterriah@northwestel.net)
Culturally important plants of the Ross River Dena, and associated impacts related to climate change
Contact: Norman Barichello (nbarichello@northwestel.net)
Délįnę, NTDélįnę, NT Health Risk and Climate Change in Sahtúot’ine Stories: Envisioning Adaptations with Elders and Youth in Délįnę, NWT
Contact: Deborah Simmons (dsimmons@senes.ca), Edward Reeves (edward_reeves@gov.deline.ca)
Inuvik, NTInuvik, NT Monitoring and Surveillance of Water Borne Diseases in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region: Adapting to a Changing Climate in the North
Contact: Crystal Lennie (clennie@irc.inuvialuit.com)
Little Salmon/Carmacks, YTLittle Salmon - Carmacks, YT Traditional Land Use Health Study
Contact: Michael Vance (mike.vance@lscfn.ca)
Jean Marie River, NTJean Marie River, NT Impacts to the Health and Wellness of Jean Marie River First Nation in the Face of a Changing Climate
Contact: Margaret Ireland (negotiations@jmrfirstmation.com)
Arviat, NUArviat, NU Determinants of Food Security Among Inuit Women in Arviat, Nunavut: the role of climate change and multiple socio-economic stresses
Contact: Shirley Tagalik (tagaliktwo@hotmail.com)
North West River, NLNorth West River, NL Traditional Knowledge: A Blueprint for Change
Contact: Ed Tuttauk (ed.tuttauk@nunatsiavut.com)
Fort Severn, ONFort Severn, ON Community Youth Researchers Survey on Polar Bear and Caribou: The Changing Way of Life in Fort Severn First Nation
Contact: Chief Matthew Kakekaspan (franz.seibel@knet.ca)
Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in, YTTr'ondëk Hwëch'in - Dawson City, YT A Multi-disciplinary Investigation of Climate Change Impacts on Yukon River Traditional Foods and the Implications for Health and Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in River Culture and Lifestyle
Contact: Bill Kendrick (bill.kendrick@gov.trondek.com)
Teslin, YTTeslin, YT Teslin Tlingit Research Food Security and Climate Change Health Impacts in Our Community
Nisga’a FN, BCNisga'a FN, BC Nisga’a women’s healthy foods, shelter, and education in the mountainous permafrost
Contact: Nancy Mackin, Deanna Nyce (nma@telus.net)
Salluit, QCSalluit, QC Real-time Monitoring for Travel Safety and Food Security in Salluit, Nunavik
Contact: Adam Lewis (a_lewis@makivik.org)
White River FN/Beaver Creek, YTBeaver Creek, YT To Feed our Community Project
Contact: Glenn Stephen (n.resources@hotmail.com)

ichr.ca wordpress.org green hosting open source