International Congress for Circumpolar Health (ICCH)

June 18 – 20, 2024
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

The International Congress for Circumpolar Health (ICCH) is held every three years in Arctic countries, or countries related to Arctic issues. It is open to anybody interested in circumpolar issues, especially scientists, researchers, health care professionals, policy analysts, government representatives and community leaders.

The Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health (CSCH) is currently planning and organizing the 18th International Congress for Circumpolar Health (ICCH18). The Congress will take place on June 18 – 20, 2024 in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories.

To register for the Congress, please visit the ICCH website.


At every ICCH, the organizing committee presents two awards: the John Arthur Hildes Circumpolar Health Medal and the Hart Hansen Award.

John Arthur Hildes Circumpolar Health Medal

The Hildes Medal is awarded to distinguished individuals nominated by the adhering bodies of the International Union for Circumpolar Health (IUCH). It honours individuals working in circumpolar nations who demonstrate the dedication exemplified by Dr. John Arthur Hildes throughout his career.

Since 1987, the international prize has been awarded to over 20 researchers and health workers from Alaska, Canada, the Nordic countries and Russia. Recipients are recognized for demonstrating excellence in northern medicine and health, as well as contributions through service, research and humanitarianism.

Hart Hansen Award

Dr. Jens Hart Hansen sought to improve circumpolar health by mentoring emerging researchers and health workers.

The Hart Hansen award is a scholarship presented to emerging circumpolar health researchers and health workers. Funded by the Jens Peder Hart Hansen Memorial Fund (JPHHMF), the award recognizes and promotes recipients’ efforts to improve circumpolar health.

Similar awards are presented by each of the IUCH’s adhering bodies.