Join the colleagues and communities from across the Circumpolar North

ICCH18 is being organized by the Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health (CSCH) in partnership with the International Union for Circumpolar Health (IUCH) and a local organizing committee.

PHOTO CREDIT: Bird’s Eye Inc.

The International Congress for Circumpolar Health (ICCH) brings together circumpolar health delegates from around the world. A prestigious international forum, ICCH enables vital knowledge sharing among health care leaders, decision-makers, community leaders and researchers.

The 18th International Congress for Circumpolar Health (ICCH18) was originally scheduled to be held on June 18–20, 2024 in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada. However, on March 15th the organizing committee announced that the congress was postponed due to the high risk of drought and wildfire in the region. An alternative date in 2024 will be confirmed shortly.

Executive Team

Kimberly Fairman
Conference Chairperson

Kimberly Fairman is Nunavummiut, and her home community is Taloyoak. She is the Executive Director at the Institute for Circumpolar Health Research and holds the NEIHR Grant for the Northwest Territories.

Kimberly was trained in nursing and obtained her Master of Public Health Degree from the University of Alberta. She worked in both the federal and territorial public service in positions that included Director-General Operations at the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency, Director of Community Wellness and Social Services of the NWT Department of Health and Social Services.

She is working with researchers, Indigenous knowledge holders, clinicians and policymakers in health systems research that impacts on the northern patient experience. Playing an important role by weaving partnerships into the research fabric, engaging with communities and building northern capacity for health research. Kimberly has been showcasing the valuable contribution of northern communities, practitioners, and indigenous knowledge holders to the modern research agenda.

Kimberly is an active board member for Polar Knowledge Canada and serves on the board of the Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health.

Dr. Ashlee Cunsolo
Scientific Chair

Dr. Ashlee Cunsolo is the Vice-Provost of the Labrador Campus and the Dean of the School of Arctic and Subarctic Studies at Memorial University, living and working on the homelands of the Innu and Inuit in Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Labrador. She is an international climate change and health research leader, particularly known for her work in the areas of climate change and mental health, and ecological grief and anxiety.

In her role as Founding Vice Provost of the Labrador Campus, Dr. Cunsolo works with multiple partners in Labrador and at Memorial University to lead the development of a brand new Northern-led and Northern-focused Campus and academic unit, including creating undergraduate, graduate, and professional learning programs, expanding Northern and Indigenous-led research, and growing infrastructure. She also leads and oversees the Pye Centre for Northern Boreal Food Systems, a new 80-acre research, education, and experimental farm focused on enhancing and expanding Northern food bases, food security, and food sovereignty in Labrador.

As a researcher, Dr. Cunsolo has been working for over 15 years on community-based and community-led climate change and health research in the North and internationally, and contributes extensively to national and international assessments and advisory committees, and is a regular contributor to media and policy. She is a former Canada Research Chair (Tier II), and a Member Emeritus of the Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists.

About the Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health

ICCH18 is being organized by the Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health (CSCH) in partnership with the International Union for Circumpolar Health (IUCH) and a local organizing committee.

Established in 1984, the CSCH is a charitable organization that promotes research, shares knowledge, raises awareness and boosts responsiveness to the health issues of circumpolar people. They are dedicated to promoting and supporting all circumpolar peoples in their efforts to attain better health.

ICCH Organizing Committee

  • Philippe Amtislavski, University of Alaska Anchorage, USA
  • Wayne Clark, University of Alberta
  • Alex Drossos, McMaster University
  • Priscilla Ferrazzi, University of Alberta
  • Hennessey Chartier Ford, Institute for Circumpolar Health Research, Canada

  • Anders Koch, Statens Serum Institut, Denmark
  • Josée Lavoie, University of Manitoba
  • Suzanne Møller, University of Greenland
  • Pertice Moffitt, Aurora Research Institute, Canada

  • Neil Murphy, American Society for Circumpolar Health
  • Jon-Oyvind Odland, Arctic University of Norway, Norway
  • Nathaniel Pollock, Memorial University, Canada
  • Jackie Price, Nunavut Arctic College
  • Arja Rautio, University of Oulu
  • Sila Rogan, University of British Columbia
  • Abbie Wiletto, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, USA