Hart Hansen Award

Support for emerging circumpolar health researchers and health workers.

PHOTO CREDIT: Bird’s Eye Inc.

Dr. Jens Hart Hansen sought to improve circumpolar health by mentoring emerging researchers and health workers.

The Hart Hansen award is a scholarship presented to emerging circumpolar health researchers and health workers. Funded by the Jens Peder Hart Hansen Memorial Fund (JPHHMF), the award recognizes and promotes recipients’ efforts to improve circumpolar health.

Each of the IUCH’s adhering bodies present a Hart Hansen Award to a member.

Dr. Jens Hart Hansen

1936 – 1998

Born to a family of physicians, Dr. Hansen earned his medical degree from the University of Copenhagen in 1962. His interest in the North was piqued in 1955 when he had the opportunity to join a geodetic expedition to Iceland. In 1965, Dr. Hansen visited Greenland as a military physician aboard a Danish inspection vessel patrolling the Greenland Waters.

Dr. Hansen was passionate about the Arctic and the people who live there. As secretary-general of the 5th ICCH, which was held in Copenhagen in 1981, Dr. Hansen developed contacts in the Artic and Antarctic scientific communities. He served as president of the International Union for Circumpolar Health from 1987 – 1993, and initiated many important projects on circumpolar health.

A respected pioneer in Greenlandic research and Arctic medicine, Dr. Hansen received the Jack Hildes Medal for excellence in Arctic medicine as a token of his colleagues’ appreciation, gratitude and admiration.

Dr. Hansen took great pride and joy in being with his family—his wife Susanne and their children Jesper, Marianne, Birgitte and Anne-Louise.

Past Canadian Winners

  • 2018 – Gwen Healey Akearok – Copenhagen

  • 2015 – Nathaniel Pollock – Oulu
  • 2012 – Tracey Galloway – Fairbanks
  • 2009 – Julie Renee Bull – Yellowknife
  • 2006 – Audrey Steenbeek – Novosibirsk